United States Mission to the European Union
Foreign Agricultural Service
United States Department Of Agriculture
Last modified: February 11, 2020

Feed Additives

European Parliament and Council Regulation 1831/2003 sets out rules for the authorization, marketing and labeling of feed additives.  Only feed additives that were granted an authorization following a scientific evaluation by the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) may be put on the market.  Commission Regulation 429/2008 sets out detailed rules for the preparation of applications and the assessment and the authorization of feed additives.

The regulation covers the following feed additive categories:

  • Technological additives (e.g. preservatives, antioxidants, emulsifiers, stabilizing agents, acidity regulators, silage additives)
  • Sensory additives (e.g. flavors, colorants)
  • Nutritional additives (e.g. vitamins, minerals, amino acids, trace elements)
  • Zootechnical additives (e.g. digestibility enhancers, gut flora stabilizers)
  • Coccidiostats and histomonostats

A Community Register of feed additives is updated whenever authorizations are modified. Authorizations are granted for 10 years and are renewable. Applications for re-evaluation have to be submitted at least one year before the expiry date of the authorization.